amberdover

The High King Lives

My Family Rocks! Sunday: Cast Away Date Night April 28, 2013

Hello friends. Last week, Chris and I tried the Cast Away themed date night from Dating Divas. It was a blast. You can find all their ideas here: http://www.thedatingdivas.com/kiirsten/cast-away-date-night/. Now, on to how ours went.

Cast Away Date Night

The Eats

Chilled coconut water to go in our coconut cups. The ingredients for dessert….

008

Honey Lime Shrimp with Yellow Rice

Shrimp recipe here:

http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2013/04/healthy-honey-lime-shrimp.html

The shrimp was a bit salty but the rice was too bland so they worked out together. The next time I make this I’ll hold back on the salt. It was still very tasty though.

020

Garlic Bread Sticks

010

Peach Ice cream Crumble

This is an original. Well, at least as in I came up with it on my own. I smashed several Chocolate Chunk White Fudge Chips Ahoy cookies and I mixed them into Peach Ice cream. Then I topped it with whipped cream. I gotta say it was DELICIOUS!. This is now one of my favorite desserts. I figured it was tropical enough and quick.  It had the perfect blend of fruit and chocolate.

027

The Decor

Coconut cups from the Dollar Tree with umbrella straws.

033

A tacked up blanket tent in the living room. A pallet of blankets on the floor. Chinese Lanterns from the Dollar Tree. Fake palm trees.

009

016

I lit several candles and covered stools with a tropical looking plastic table cloth.

026

We watched “Cast Away” while eating supper. Then we took a break half way to have some island fun.

We didn’t do everything the Dating Diva’s suggested but we had fun with what we did do.

1.  Make a shelter out of Popsicle sticks.

037

038

2. Make your own Wilson using tennis balls.

If you’ve seen the movie, you know Tom Hanks befriends a volley ball and names it Wilson after it’s brand. Wilson gives him company on the island. I’d be terrified to have Chris’ Wilson staring at me lol! (on the right)

035

3. Draw an island portrait of your sweety.

Chris’ drawing of me on the left and mine of him on the right. Gives me the giggles :).

040

The date nights just keep getting better and better. Thank you Dating Diva’s!

Folks, I’d love it if you left me a comment…especially if you have date night ideas or you try this one. I truly hope this blog inspires you in your every day life and to have a romance filled marriage.

Other moments…

My guys washing the van. Michael’s learning so many new things. It’s hard to believe he’s already seven years old!

Olivia'sparty2013 119

I’ve been decorating our back yard a bit. A butterfly and dragonfly in the trees…

Middle April 2013 003

I’m trying to grow a sunflower house but it’s taking a good while. I also planted a rose bush and strawberries. I have solar lights lining the path and a solar bird bath. It’s magical at night. I really hope all the flowers grow.

Middle April 2013 002

Well, God bless & remember the High King lives! ~Amber Dover

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers