amberdover

The High King Lives

Hobbit Marathon Party May 17, 2014

In this Post: A mishmash of Hobbit parties with my own flare. Also an original  homemade board game. Come with us from the Shire to Mirkwood all the way to the Misty Mountains!

Hello dear ones! I am so excited to share our Hobbit marathon party with you! As you may know, the second Hobbit movie, The Desolation of Smaug, just came out on dvd. We are big LOTR and Hobbit fans here. I took two parties and mashed them together. Then I threw in crafts and snacks that I found here and there. Add a homemade and original Hobbit board game and you’ve got Amber’s flare ;).

I do want to thank the two main bloggers that inspired me. The other ideas are on my Pinterest, which is listed after the picture.

Though I did not use them as intended, I did use several of the printables from The Dating Divas. I love how they inspire me continually.

http://www.thedatingdivas.com/just-the-two-of-us/the-hobbit-date-night/

The Given Life has the coolest Hobbit party I’ve seen. I did my own version of two of their activities.

http://welivethegivenlife.blogspot.com/2012/10/hobbit-party-or-what-happens-when-both.html

So here’s how I did it.

The Set

  • Bilbo’s hobbit door~ green tissue paper cut into strips and brown package paper. I fit it onto our doorway. The tissue strips are much easier to get into as opposed to a door.
  • Mirkwood spiders~ white crepe & paper spiders.
  • Mirkwood Forest~  I took brown package paper and twisted it into tree branches. I taped green tissue paper leaves. I wound it around our entertainment center and put up cheap Dollar Tree lights (leaves & fireflies).  I found beautiful pictures of the main elves and taped them to the doors.
  • Gollum’s Cave~ trash bags, a fan, and a printable of Gollum.
  • Smaug’s domain~ I put red tissue paper below the entertainment center and I taped a picture of Smaug above. This is where I kept our dragon crafts.
  • A table fit for a Hobbit~ I was going for prissy yet still masculine. Bilbo loves his mother’s dishes :). I found a blue checkered table cloth at the Dollar Tree. I also found the plastic pink dishes there. They look so real and dainty. I did take out my good china mugs for breakfast and then glasses for dinner. I made a simple paper banner that says “The Hobbit” and I attached it to two straws that I put in moss lanterns.
  • Moss Lanterns~ I saw this idea on Pinterest and loved it. I put green moss in mason jars and either taped fake candles to the lid or left them on top of the moss.

Invitations

  • The invites come from The Dating Diva’s. I left them and the fake tickets on the table with breakfast.

Food

  • A Hobbit Breakfast~  Bilbo most likely drinks English hot tea. It just seems proper, with cream and sugar of course. Sausages and scones are delightful! We should eat like Hobbits more often! :)
  • Second Breakfast? Lunch? Whatever!~ We had the same delicious turkey meatballs from our Narnia party. We also had slices of cheese.
  • Dinner~ fish and chips (homemade fries).  Cream Soda and Rootbeer for drinks.
  • Dessert~ blueberry or peach cobbler muffins. We definitely ate like dwarves!

 Activities

  • Hobbit movie marathon~ An Unexpected Journey & The Desolation of Smaug.  Along with breaks in between, this took all day.
  • Shire Craft~ This was supposed to be a Hobbit card but we made it a prop. The directions are on my Pinterest but I used foam and construction paper.
  • Hobbit drawing tutorial
  • Dwarves printable~ this helped us figure out the name of each dwarf.
  • Troll Freeze Tag~ I got the idea from The Given Life. Basically one of us played the sun and the others played the trolls. If the “sun” tagged us then we became stone.
  • Riddles inside Gollum’s Cave~ I pulled up a riddle game on my tablet. Each of us went into the cave. If we solved the riddle then we held out Sting (Bilbo’s sword. I have a replica.) If we lost then we hollered because Gollum was eating us. That’s my morbid twist on this idea from The Given Life.  Ha! We had fun though.  Those riddles were hard! But Chris did defeat Gollum in the end.
  • Dragon Eyes~ You can find directions on Pinterest. I used tin foil, paper, and glass stones. This awesome craft doubled as game pieces later.
  • Dragon Slime~ This was fun but icky. Starch, glue, and glitter.
  • Hobbit Music~  Michael pulled out music from the first music to play on his keyboard.
  • Our homemade Hobbit board game~ I found a printable blank Monopoly board game and used it for my Hobbit game. I drew part of the Hobbit map in the middle. The four corners were places like Mirkwood and the Misty Mountains. They each have conqequences if you land on them. I used a plastic jewel for the arkenstone. The dragon’s eyes are game pieces. I printed off trivia questions and fun facts for the cards. I stole dice from another board game.  It was fun and we learned a lot.

I hope you’ve found this post to be inspirational for your own Hobbit party. Links at the bottom!

 

hobbit

 

Pinterest link: (email sub. come to my blog to see it)

You can find all my parties here:

God bless & remember the High King lives! ~Amber Dover

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers