amberdover

The High King Lives

11th Anniversary Age of Adaline Date September 30, 2015

In this post: All the details on our Age of Adaline date plus anniversary pictures, and chalkboard door art.

AnniversaryBlog

Hello dear ones! I know it’s been a good while since my last post. I promise I haven’t forgotten you. I have so much to share with you and a lot of catching up to do. I wanted to skip ahead and share this extra special date. I hope it inspires you. Here’s how we celebrated our 11th anniversary, our Age of Adaline date (based on the movie).

Lover’s silhouette chalkboard art~ I used the silhouette from a picture of Chris and I. You’ll see the picture on the collage poster board I made. It’s in the middle

IMG_4537

Anniversary Collage Poster Board~ I printed out black and white pictures of us throughout the years. I glued pieces of old wall paper I found at Goodwill, onto poster board from The Dollar Tree. I put a poem I had written in the middle.

Here is the poem. You may link to this post, but don’t copy it. Thanks!

The Story of Us” by Amber Dover

“Let everyone see, the rhythm and rhyme of you and me. As we grow old, every storm we can weather. Let us never go cold, because we’re better together. Every kiss is a song, of the sweetest pain. The roses and the thorns; we two remain. I love you.”

IMG_4583

My first set for our date.

IMG_4594

The set after we went antique shopping.

IMG_4744

IMG_4769

IMG_4776

My Vintage Look

IMG_4627 (2)

I did as many finger curls on my head as I could. I used a peach lipstick. I added a peach belt to a dress I had to give me that 1940’s style. The big necklace Chris bought me the night before from a street vendor, a lady handmade it.

The Agenda

IMG_4626

The night before our Adaline date we got in the vintage mood by listening to jazz live at The Loft in down town. I attempted to put victory curls in my hair but it didn’t turn out quite right.IMG_4601

IMG_4602

IMG_4604

IMG_4606

IMG_4611

IMG_4614

Me reading to the kids when we got back.

IMG_4618

Age of Adaline Date (what I got pictures of)

    • Antique shopping

The guys and I went antique “window” shopping (meaning we didn’t buy anything at this place).

IMG_4627

IMG_4630

IMG_4633

IMG_4635

IMG_4650

Messing around…

IMG_4654

IMG_4665

IMG_4668

IMG_4675

IMG_4700

We did pay to check out the lunchbox museum.

IMG_4652

IMG_4705

IMG_4708

IMG_4713

IMG_4717

IMG_4720

We finished with lunch at Steak n Shake because it always has a vintage feel. Then my parents got Michael so Chris and I could have some romance.

IMG_4729

Here’s my anniversary present: a vintage type writer from either the 1930’s or 1940’s. It works too. We got it at a thrift store.
IMG_4842

    • Read Braille

IMG_4735

IMG_4840

    • Gigi’s cupcakes~ Wedding Cake is an amazing flavor!

IMG_4730

IMG_4731

    • chili dogs and cream soda

IMG_4837

    • Romantic photos

IMG_4806

IMG_4813

IMG_4814

IMG_4825

IMG_4826

    • Star gazing

We used the star app on my tablet.

    • Speak Portuguese ~We looked up “I love you” and I wrote it on the type writer

IMG_4890

  • Poetry and slow dancing I didn’t get pictures of

Random funny pic of Leeland partying with us.

IMG_4839

God bless and remember the High King lives! ~Amber Dover

Age of Adaline on Pinterest:

More of our Date Nights:

Date ideas on Pinterest:

 

 

Leave a comment